Powered by Google TranslateTranslate

St Michael's CofE Primary School

- Let Your Light Shine -



In the Reception year, the children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum. This builds on the child’s previous experiences, with a strong focus on learning through play and exploring.  

Children’s learning is developed through the Prime and Specific Areas of Learning:

  • The Prime areas of Learning:
    • Communication and Language 
    • Physical Development 
    • Personal, Social and Emotional Development 
  • The Specific areas of learning:
    • Literacy
    • Mathematics 
    • Understanding the World 
    • Expressive Arts & Design  

The Characteristics of Effective Learning describe factors which play a central role in a child's learning and in becoming an effective learner. They run through and underpin all seven areas of learning and development, representing processes rather than outcomes.

Key characteristics of effective learning:

  • playing and exploring
  • active learning
  • creating and thinking critically

During the Reception year children’s progress against the Early Learning Goals (ELGs) are carefully monitored. Each child has their own learning journey, which is shared with parents regularly during the year. Parental involvement is very much encouraged, for example, through parents coming in to school either to help within the classroom or coming along to 'Stay & Play' sessions,. They are also encouraged to contribute to their child’s Learning Journey through the use of 'Tapestry'.